CSUSB Alert: Power is out on the San Bernardino Campus

An unplanned regional power outage impacting the San Bernardino campus occurred shortly after 2 p.m; all operations will be closed the rest of today. Normal operations will resume Thursday.

Facilities Management will monitor the situation and respond to campus building issues once power is restored. 

Main Content Region

Faculty & Staff

Full-Time Faculty

George Thomas

George Thomas
Chair, Professor of Spanish
george.thomas@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-5849
Office: UH-314
In-person office hours: Mondays 10 am-11 am & by appointment

Virtual office hours: By Appointment

Professor Makiko Amaya

Makiko Amaya
Lecturer of Japanese
mamaya@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-7132
Office: UH-401.36
In-person office hours: Tues & Thurs 12:20 pm - 12:50 pm & 4:00 pm - 4:30 pm or by appointment. 

Online office hours: Friday 3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Professor's Amaya Zoom Office

Dr. Esteban Cordoba

Esteban Córdoba
Assistant Professor of Spanish
esteban.cordoba@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 527-7127
Office: UH-201.41
Office Hours: 
Professor Córdoba's Zoom Office

Dr. Rafael Correa

Rafael Correa
Professor of Spanish
rafa@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-5853
Office: UH-201.39
In-Person Office Hours: Thurs 3 pm - 4:30 pm
Virtual Office Hours: None

Dr. Carmen Jany

Carmen Dagostino (formerly Jany)
Professor of Spanish and Linguistics
cjany@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-7386
Office: UH-201.43
In-Person Office Hours: Wed 1 pm-2:30 pm
Virtual Office Hours: Thurs 9:30 am -11 am 
Professor Dagostino's Zoom Office

Dr. Bibiana Diaz-Rodriguez

Bibiana Diaz-Rodriguez 
Professor of Spanish
bidiaz@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-3670
Office: UH-201.29
In-Person Office Hours: Thurs 11 am - 12 pm
Virtual Office Hours: Tues 11:30 am - 12.30 pm, and by email
Professor Diaz-Rodriguez's Zoom Office

Dr. Dany Doueiri

Dany Doueiri 
Professor of Arabic
ddoueiri@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-5814
Office: UH-201.32
In-Person Office Hours: Mon 12 pm - 2 pm, Thurs 9 am - 11 am 
Virtual Office Hours: Mondays 12 pm - 2 pm, Thurs 9 am - 11 am 
Professor Doueiri's Zoom Office

Sarah Dowman

Sarah Dowman
Assistant Professor of Latinx/Chicanx Studies
sarah.dowman@csusb.edu
Phone: 
Office: RG-203M (Palm Desert Campus)
In-Person Office Hours: Mon & Wed: 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm (hybrid)

Online Office Hours: Mon & Wed: 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm (hybrid)
Professor Dowman's Zoom Office

Dr. Arturo Fernandez-Gibert

Arturo Fernández-Gibert 
Professor of Spanish
Spanish Grammar & Phonology, History of Spanish Language in the United States
afernand@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-5836
Office: UH-201.42
Office Hours: 

Dr. Maria Garcia-Puente

María García-Puente 
Associate Professor of Spanish
mpuente@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-7701
Office: UH-201.47
In-Person Office Hours: 
Virtual Office Hours: 
Professor García-Puente's Office

Dr. Kareen Gervasi

Kareen Gervasi 
Professor of Spanish and Linguistics
kgervasi@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-7570
Office: UH-201.37
In-Person Office Hours: Tues & Thurs: 7:30 am-8:30 am, 11 am -12 pm
Virtual Office Hours: Tues & Thurs: 7:30 am-8:30 am, 11 am-12 pm
Professor Gervasi's Zoom Office

Dr. David Jerez-Gomez

J. David Jerez-Gomez 
Professor of Spanish, Spanish Literature, Early Modern and Golden Age Spanish Literature, Medieval Spanish Literature.
jdjerez@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-5851
Office: UH-201.45
In-Person Office Hours: Mon & Wed 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm
Virtual Office Hours:  Mon & Wed 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm
Professor Jerez-Gomez's Zoom Office

kanesaka

Dr. Kirk Kanesaka
Assistant Professor of Japanese
Kirk.Kanesaka@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-5858 
Office: UH-201.44
In-Person Office Hours: Mon & Wed: 12 pm - 1 pm
Virtual Office Hours: Wed: 12 pm - 1 pm
Professor Kanesaka's Zoom Office (see syllabus for passcode)

Dr. Oraib Mango

Oraib Mango 
Professor of Arabic
omango@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-7473
Office: UH-201.43 
In-Person Office Hours: Tues: 11:50 am - 12:50 pm, Thurs: 12 pm - 1 pm
Virtual Office Hours: ​​​Tues: 11:50 am - 12:50 pm, Thurs: 12 pm - 1 pm
Professor Mango's Zoom Office

Dr. Elizabeth Martin

Elizabeth Martin 
Professor of French
eamartin@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-5854
Office: UH-201.30
In-Person Office Hours: By appointment only
Virtual Office Hours: Mon & Wed: 10:30 am– 11:30 am + by appointment
Dr. Martin's Zoom Office

Dr. Terri Nelson

Terri Nelson 
Professor of French
tnelson@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-7104
Office: UH-201.38
In-Person Office Hours: 
Virtual Office Hours: 
Professor Nelson's Zoom Office

Professor Rios

Oscar Rios 
Lecturer of Spanish
orios@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-3835
Office: UH-401.25
In-Person Office Hours: 
Virtual Office Hours:
Professor Rios' Zoom Office

Adjunct Faculty

Cody Coyote Smiling

Mayumi Ajioka
Instructor of Japanese
mayumi.ajioka@csusb.edu 
Office: UH-401.41
In-person Office Hours: Tues: 3 pm - 4 pm 

Virtual Office Hours: None

Julieta

Julieta Cabrera Lucero
Instructor in Spanish
julieta.cabrera@csusb.edu
Office: Online
Office Hours: 

Esther Domenech

Esther Domenech 
Instructor of Spanish
edomenech@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-3835
Office: UH-401.25
In-Person Office Hours: Tues & Thurs: 1:00-2:00pm
Virtual Office Hours: By appointment only
Professor Domenech's Zoom Office

Professor Carolina Fiallo

Carolina Fiallo
Instructor of Spanish
carolina.fiallo@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-5847
Office: UH-401.41
In-Person Office Hours: Mon & Wed: 11:45 am - 12:45 pm
Virtual Office Hours: None

Professor Jonathan M. Hall

Jonathan M. Hall
Instructor of Japanese
jonathan.hall@csusb.edu
Office: UH-201.33
Office Hours: 

Harris

Audrey Harris
Instructor of Spanish
Audrey.Harris@csusb.edu
Office: UH 201.48
In-Person Office Hours: Mon & Wed: 11:45 am - 12:45 pm
Virtual Office Hours: Fri 2 pm - 4 pm
Professor Harris's Zoom Office

Professor Matt Marquis

Matthew Marquis
Instructor of American Sign Language
matt.marquis@csusb.edu
Office: UH-201.31
Online Office Hours: Fri: 10 am - 12 pm

Professor Mary Ann Mcguire

Mary Ann McGuire 
Instructor of French
mmcguire@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-7136
Office: UH-401.34
In-Person Office Hours: Tues & Thurs: 9:00 am - 9:30 am & 4:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Virtual Office Hours: By appointment
Professor McGuire's Zoom Office

Yasu Miura

Yasuhiko Miura
Instructor of Japanese
yasuhiko.miura@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-7129
Office: UH-401.36

In-Person Office Hours: Mon & Wed: 11:20 pm - 11:50 pm
Virtual Office Hours: None

Professor Bomi Hwang

Bomi Hwang 
Instructor of Korean
bhwang@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-5855
Office: UH-201.40
In-Person Office Hours: Thurs: 12 pm - 12:50 pM

Online Office Hours: by Appt

Professor Hwang's Zoom Office

Professor Morgan

Valerie Morgan 
Instructor of French
vmorgan@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-7719
Office: UH-401.39
In-Person Office Hours: None
Virtual Office Hours: Every weekday by Zoom with appointment
Professor Morgan's Zoom Office

Professor Masako Nunn

Masako M. Nunn 
Instructor of Japanese
mnunn@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-5855
Office: UH-201.40
In-Person Office Hours: 
Virtual Office Hours: 
Professor Nunn's Zoom Office

Professor An Pham

An Pham
Instructor of Japanese
an.pham@csusb.edu
Phone:
Office: 
In-Person Office Hours: None
Virtual Office Hours: Tues: 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm
Professor Pham's Zoom Office

Professor Ayman Ramadan

Ayman Ramadan 
Instructor of Arabic
aramadan@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-7573
Office: UH-201.35
In-Person Office Hours: 
Virtual Office Hours: 
Professor Ramadan's Zoom Office

Lisbeth Rosales

Lisbeth Rosales
Instructor of Spanish
Lisbeth.Rosales@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-5852
Office: UH-201.48

Professor Corrina Shih

Corrina Shih 
Instructor of Chinese
hshih@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-7137
Office: UH-401.34
In-Person Office Hours: N/A
Virtual Office Hours: Thurs: 1:30 pm - 2 pm
Professor Shih's Zoom Office

Passcode for Zoom: Chinese

Professor Ernest Siva

Ernest Siva
Instructor of Serrano
Cahuilla/Serrano Elder

Bethany Thompson

Bethany Thompson
Instructor of French
bethany.thompson@csusb.edu
Virtual Office Hours: By appointment
Professor Thompson's Zoom Office

Professor Winston

Leslie Winston
Instructor of Japanese
leslie.winston@csusb.edu
Office: UH 201.48
Office Hours: 

Teaching Associates

Fall 2023

Lyda Robles
Lyda Robles
Instructor of Spanish

Hector Zurita
Teaching Associate of Spanish

Spring 2024

Liliana Hansen
Instructor of Spanish

Staff

Karla Gonzalez

Karla Gonzalez
Administrative Support Coordinator
kgonzalez4@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-5847
Room: UH-314

Alysha Timmons

Alysha Timmons
Director, Multimedia Language Center
atimmons@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-5848
Room: UH-007

Retired Faculty

Ruth Burke 
Associate Professor of German/French, Emeritus 
rburke@csusb.edu

Rosalinda Charcas Rodriguez
Intructor of Spanish, Emeritus
rchar@csusb.edu

Ana Teresa Deloera-Moll 
Instructor of Spanish, Emeritus
adeloera@csusb.edu

M. Antonieta Gallegos-Ruiz 
Professor of Spanish, Emeritus
agallrui@csusb.edu

Dorothy A. Gaylor 
Instructor of Spanish, Emeritus
dgaylor@csusb.edu 

Fred Gravatt 
Instructor of American Sign Language, Emeritus
fgravatt@csusb.edu

Leonard Hill 
Instructor of Spanish, Emeritus
leonardh@csusb.edu

Gladys Schrom
Intructor of Spanish, Emeritus
gschrom@csusb.edu

Loreto Velarde-Petersen
Instructor of Spanish, Emeritus
lpeterse@csusb.edu

Daniel S. Whitaker 
Professor of Spanish, Emeritus
dwhitake@csusb.edu

Aurora Wolfgang 
Professor of French, Emeritus
aurora@csusb.edu