Main Content Region


Dr. Cheryl Riggs Endowed Student Award Fund

For History students who are the first in their family to attend college.Established by Professor Cheryl Riggs in 2014, the scholarship is available to CSUSB students who major in History and hold a 3.0 GPA or higher.  As Professor Riggs was a first generation college attendee herself, and a full time re-entry student with children, she established the award to 'pay it forward' by endowing funds for a History student at CSUSB.  Preference will be given to a first generation college attendee and/or adult re-entry student. Please submit an application online with a writing sample and a brief statement explaining the impact of a History degree on your life goals.

J. C. Robinson Memorial Scholarship

For students with an interest in Hispanic History and Culture

Eligible applicants are CSUSB students majoring in History who will have received 9 units in courses on Hispanic history/culture by the end of the spring semester of the year of application, who are either juniors or seniors, and who will be returning for the following academic year. The J.C. Robinson Memorial Scholarship is for students with an interest in Hispanic history and culture. Please submit an application online with a writing sample of any length. 

The Margaret McGann Tarter Endowed Scholarship Fund

For veteran full-time students majoring in History at CSUSB Established in 2016, the Margaret McGann Tarter (1910-1979) Endowed Scholarship Fund honors her memory and her dedication to her children and their education.  The scholarship is intended to help women, veterans, and other students who are pursuing a degree in History in the hope that recipients will value learning, art, and service in their lives. Please submit an application and a brief statement online.

Michael Persell Memorial Scholarship in European History

In memory of Dr. (Stuart) Michael Persell, professor emeritus of CSUSB, his daughter (Michelle Margalit) and widow (Evelyn Persell) set up the endowed scholarship for history students in 2020.  Students who are enrolled in a BA in History, have a preferred minimum 3.5 GPA, have an interest in European history and enjoy history for its own sake will be eligible to receive this award.  Please submit an application and a brief statement online for consideration.   

Professor Robert Blackey Endowed Student Award Fund

For students with an interest in History education

Established is 2014 by Professor Robert Blackey who taught at CSUSB for 50 years, the scholarship is open to History majors with a minimum 3.0 GPA. Preference will be given to students seeking a career in either secondary school or higher education, though in some circumstances, consideration may be given to a History major with another career goal. Please submit an application online with a brief statement about your plans for a career teaching history. 

Schofield-McAfee Award

By nomination only

Established in 2010 by Professor Joyce Hanson, the Schofield-McAfee award honors two professors emeriti of the history department, Kent Schofield and Ward McAfee, both of whom were great intellectual contributors to the department and university. Junior students who are returning in the Fall for the next year and have a GPA between 2.5 and 3.5, work hard, attend classes, and whose academic work has improved over time because of their efforts, are automatically nominated by professors every year. This award is made by nomination of the faculty only, and is not applied for by students.

Applications for the Riggs, Robinson, McGann, Persell, and Blackey awards must be completed online through the students' MyCoyote Accounts.  Applications are normally due before March each year.  The Schofield/McAfee award is based on nominations by faculty only.

Questions should be directed to Dr Ryan Keating at