Return of the Pack Stay Informed
Main Content Region

Advising

Advising

What classes should I take this semester?  How do I ensure I am on track to graduate?

Your first stop for all course related questions should be the Mentor Advising Center (MAC)

MAC offers academic advising to undergraduate Social & Behavioral Science students in the following majors: Criminal Justice, Economics, History, Political Science, Social Sciences, and Sociology. It is located in faculty Office Building in room FO-145. Trained Mentor Advisors are prepared to help you select classes, plan a quarter schedule, and propose a long term Education Plan tailored to meet your needs.

You can reach the MAC at 909.537.5518 or by email at themac@csusb.edu.

More information about the advising center is available here: Advising 

Am I maximizing the opportunities available to me at the university? Am I on the right track to fulfill my career goals?  What should I do with my history degree?  

Students are encouraged to regularly meet with full-time faculty to ensure that they progress toward graduation as smoothly as possible, and also take advantage of various opportunities available on campus.  

Students can meet with faculty about any of the following:

  • declaring a history major or minor
  • deciding between concentrations or declaring a focus 
  • planning a course schedule for a particular semester
  • course substitutions
  • checking your progress towards completing the major/minor
  • CSET-waiver information
  • potential internship opportunities and career planning
  • participating in extracurricular activities such as history club/Phi Alpha Theta, history journal, study abroad, research positions, supplemental instruction opportunities, volunteer opportunities, scholarships etc.  
  • developing graduate study plans
  • getting in touch with other campus entities for help with problems
  • discussion about honors projects or independent study courses
  • assistance with applying to graduate programs.
  • career counseling
  • any other questions or issues you may have.

Note: Although students are assigned an advisor, they may consult with any faculty member of the department that they choose.  Students may also consult with professional advisors at the MAC/undergraduate studies.

Student Last Name Faculty Advisor Contact Info
A-B Dr. Cary Barber

SB-333

537-4325

cary.barber@csusb.edu
C-D Dr. Diana Johnson

SB-329

537-3836

jahanson@csusb.edu
E-F Dr. Ryan Keating

SB-341

537-3917

rkeating@csusb.edu
G-H Dr. Kate Liszka 

SB-357E

537-5437

kate.liszka@csusb.edu
I-K Dr. Thomas Long

SB 327F

537-3791

tlong@csusb.edu
L-M Dr. Daisy Ocampo 

SB-355

daisy.ocampo@csusb.edu  
N-O Dr. Timothy Pytell

SB-337

537-3789

tpytell@csusb.edu
P-R Dr. Marc Robinson 

SB-335

537-5528

marc.robinson@csusb.edu  
S

Dr. Richard Samuelson

SB-339

537-7508

rsamuels@csusb.edu
T Dr. Pedro Santoni psantoni@csusb.edu
U-Z Dr. David Yaghoubian

SB-331

537-3790

dny@csusb.edu
PDC Students Dr. Michael Karp

537-8169

Michael.karp@csusb.edu

MA in History students

Dr. Jeremy Murray

SB-357D

537-5540

jmurray@csusb.edu

 

Careers in History

Historians research and analyze the past through writing, teaching, and studying. Please visit the Careers in History webpage for detailed information on career choices available for history majors. 

Hints and Guide for Success

Students and faculty have put together a quick handout on "Things I Wish I Had Known" or "Hints for Success" for history students.  Students are encouraged to consult this guide which contains some practical suggestions for navigating the university and degree process.