Main Content Region

Science Safety Committee

Science Safety Committee (SSC)

What is the SSC? 

The Science Safety Committee (SSC), formally known as the Chemical Hygiene Committee, is responsible for evaluating and administering the chemical safety aspects of all University programs involving the research and teaching use of hazardous chemicals under the provisions outlined in the Chemical Hygiene Plan (CHP). The SSC strives to minimize accidents through risk analysis and mitigation holding periodic reviews to address departmental safety concerns, modifications, regulatory deficiencies, incidents, and recommend corrective action.

Download the Chemical Hygiene Plan


Proposed SSC Structure 

Below is the proposed SSC structure redesign. Under this structure, the committee is supported by an executive leader who serves as the executive sponsor, who serves as the Dean of the Natural Science program, and a member of the committee. The committee consists of two committee co-chairs, one appointed by the executive sponsor, the other is the Chemical Hygiene Officer (CHO), who is an EH&S specialist.  Members of the committee are comprised of Department Chairs and their respective Instruction Support Technicians (ISTs) who the Chemical Hygiene Plan (CHP) directly affects. As well as the EH&S director and specialist who provides technical safety insight and guidance. Elections for the appointed SSC chair are held every two years and elected/appointed members serve for two years on their committee. 

Proposed Science Safety Committee (SSC) Structure

Co-chairs of the SSC are automatic members of the Risk and Safety Committee (R&SC), where they serve as a communicator for the committee they chair. As a representative for their committee, any updates regarding the department concerns, modifications, regulatory deficiencies, incidents, and corrective action are to be discussed and resolved if possible, through collaborative proposal between all R&SC members.

Committee Charter

This charter is currently under review.

SSC Agendas and Meeting Minutes 

Calendar Year 2020

Calendar Year 2019

Calendar Year 2018