Main Content Region

Art Safety Committee 

Arts Safety Committee (ASC)

What is the ASC? 

The ASC is the committee dedicated to building a culture of safety for research and education workshop classes in the humanities program through training, education, and policy development. Members of the ASC are required to uphold and improve the Art Safety Plan (ASP) guidelines as well as comply with all applicable federal, state, local, and campus safety and health regulations. The ASC strives to minimize accidents through risk analysis and mitigation holding periodic reviews to address departmental safety concerns, modifications, regulatory deficiencies, incidents, and recommend corrective action. 

ASC Structure 

Below is the ASC structure redesign. Under this structure, the committee is supported by an executive leader known as the executive sponsor, who serves as the Dean of the Arts and Letters program and a member of the committee. The committee consists of two committee co-chairs, one appointed by the executive sponsor, the other an EH&S specialist.  Members of the committee are comprised of Department Chairs and their respective designees who can be Instruction Support Technicians (ISTs) with institutional knowledge and experience in their respective fields. Elections for the appointed ASC chair are held annually and elected/appointed members to serve at least annually on the committee, depending on their time allowances and availability. 

As a representative for their committee, any updates regarding department concerns, modifications, regulatory deficiencies, incidents, and corrective action, are to be discussed and resolved if possible, through collaborative proposals between the R&SC sub-safety committee level. Co-chairs of the ASC serve as a correspondent between the ASC and CWSC and present any issues needing additional help or attention to the CWSC via an informative report to the Director of EH&S. The Director of EH&S will voice the concerns of all the sub-committee to help find a resolution. If a resolution cannot be resolved at the CWSC level without additional guidance and/or interference from higher management, the Director of EH&S will present any unsolved issues at the RMAC for final campus resolution.

ASC Agendas and Meeting Minutes 

Previous Agendas and Minutes