CSUSB Alert: Power is out on the San Bernardino Campus

An unplanned regional power outage impacting the San Bernardino campus occurred shortly after 2 p.m; all operations will be closed the rest of today. Normal operations will resume Thursday.

Facilities Management will monitor the situation and respond to campus building issues once power is restored. 

Main Content Region

Advising Student Hours


Faculty Student Hours - Summer 2024


NOTE: The department chair and faculty teaching summer courses are typically the only ones with office hours during the summer session. You can definitely try to contact other faculty during the summer, but they may not be around or their response may be slow.

Biology Faculty Advising Hours now also include Zoom meetings. If the hours listed do not work for you, most faculty will also work with you via appointment. Contact individual professors via email (usually preferred) or phone. 

In addition to Biology Faculty Advisors, there are professional academic advisors from Academic Success and Undergraduate Advising to help you. We recommend that freshmen and sophomores work with professional advisors for general advice and General Education requirements. You may also contact them over the phone or by email (contact info below). 

Academic Success and Undergraduate Advising Provides guidance for undergraduate students throughout their academic journey.

  • If you are a Freshman or Sophomore, you may schedule an appointment with Advising & Academic Services located in UH-380 or by calling (909) 537-7345. You are also encouraged to meet with Biology faculty (see table below) for questions about Biology major requirements. 
  • For New Transfers and Continuing Students (Juniors, and Seniors), you should consult with a faculty advisor (see table below). 

Health Professions Advising Center (HPAC) Provides advising to undergraduates, graduates, and alumni to prepare for careers in medicine and healthcare fields. 

  • For current CSUSB students, you may schedule an appointment through Navigate.
  • For Alumni, you may schedule an appointment by emailing hpac@csusb.edu or by calling (909) 537-7345.
Faculty Student Hours
FACULTY HOURS OFFICE LOCATION AND/OR ZOOM LINK

EMAIL and PHONE

Dr. Jeremy Dodsworth

(Department Chair)

Tues. and Wed. 12:00 - 1:300 pm or by appointment

BI-312 

https://csusb.zoom.us/j/94799733012

jdodsworth@csusb.edu

909.537.7396

Dr. Nicole Bournias-Vardiabasis

None (summer)

BI-317

Twitter: @nbournia

https://csusb.zoom.us/j/5409437340

nbournia@csusb.edu

909.537.5309

Dr. Mike Chao

 

None (summer)

BI-318

https://csusb.zoom.us/j/9095375388

mchao@csusb.edu

909.537.5388

Dra. Heidy Contreras None (summer) CS-115

heidy.contreras@csusb.edu

909.537.3130

Dr. Joseph Heras None (summer)

BI-325 

https://csusb.zoom.us/j/9467998149

joseph.heras@csusb.edu

909.537.5315

Dr. Angela Horner None (summer)

BI-320

ahorner@csusb.edu

909.537.5597

Dr. Lúa López None (summer)

CS-113

https://csusb.zoom.us/j/8436910946

lua.lopezperez@csusb.edu

909.537.5364

Dr. Anthony Metcalf

None (summer)

CS-116

https://csusb.zoom.us/j/5168822007

Password: 723039

ametcalf@csusb.edu

909.537.7501

Dr. Laura Newcomb

Mon. and Wed. 12:10-1:10 pm

(5W1 session)

BI-310

https://csusb.zoom.us/j/2317258402

lnewcomb@csusb.edu

909.537.5542

Dr. Daniel Nickerson None (summer)

CS-112

https://csusb.zoom.us/j/486720162

daniel.nickerson@csusb.edu

909.537.3671

Dr. Tomasz Owerkowicz

None (summer)

CS-114 (office)

BI-210 (student hours location)

towerkow@csusb.edu

909.537.5312

Dr. David Polcyn None (summer)

BI-316

dpolcyn@csusb.edu

909.537.5313

Dr. Bree Putman

None (summer)

CS-105

Twitter: @breeput

https://csusb.zoom.us/j/4909540317

breanna.putman@csusb.edu

909.537.4582

Dr. David Rhoads

None (summer)

BI-315

https://csusb.zoom.us/j/9411335377

drhoads@csusb.edu

909.537.5577

Dr. David Smith

None (summer)

CS-107

https://csusb.zoom.us/j/82102628823

david.smith2@csusb.edu

909.537.4583

Dr. Stuart Sumida

None (summer)

BI-314 (office)

BI-106 (student hours location)

ssumida@csusb.edu

909.537.7338

Dr. Kimberlyn Williams None (summer)

BI-311

https://csusb.zoom.us/j/81902662850

williams@csusb.edu

909.537.7656

Dr. Anna Zelaya None (summer)

BI-309

https://csusb.zoom.us/j/87865754523

To schedule an appointment, go to calendly.com/ajzelaya/30m

anna.zelaya@csusb.edu

909.537.5276