Main Content Region

Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)


The Biosafety Committee's purpose is:

  1. to review and approve research and education using gene engineering procedures.
  2. to establish policies for safe use of biohazardous material.
  3. to establish policies for other biological and health-related issues (for example, procedure to follow in case of needle sticks).

Current Biosafety Committee Members:

  • Dr. Cynthia Crawford, IBC Chair, Interim Associate Provost of Research, Professor - Department of Psychology
  • Dr. Laura Newcomb, IBC Member, Professor - Department of Biology
  • Dr. David Rhoads, IBC Member, Professor - Department of Biology
  • Dr. Yu Jung Kim, IBC Member, Professor - Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Dr. Richelle Marracino Ghazal, IBC Member, Student Health Center
  • Ms. Kathy Pierson, IBC Member, Environmental Health and Safety
  • Two non-affiliated community members.
  • Mr. Michael Gillespie, Sr. Research Compliance Officer, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs

Applications to Use Biological Specimens for Research or Teaching

Biosafety Information

For questions regarding these issues, please contact:

Dr. Cynthia Crawford, Interim Associate Provost for Research and Professor of Psychology at 909-537-7416