Main Content Region

Faculty Research Areas

At CSUSB, our faculty and students participate in several active research groups.  For faculty contact information, click Faculty and Staff page



Susan Addington (Algebraic Groups)
Zahid Hasan (Finite Groups, Symmetric generation of finite groups)
Youngsu Kim (Commutative Algebra)
Bronson Lim (Algebraic Geometry, Category Theory, Group Theory)
Giovanna Llosent 
Jeffrey S. Meyer (Number Theory, Algebraic Groups, Cryptography)
J. Paul Vicknair (Commutative Algebra)
Laura Wallace


Nadejda Dyakevich
Hajrudin Fejzic
Yuichiro Kakihara
Min-Lin Lo
Shawn McMurran (PDEs)

Applied Mathematics

Hector BaƱos Cervantes (Biomathematics-Phylogenetics)


Jeremy Aikin (Matroid Theory and Graph Theory)
Joseph Chavez
Gabriel Elvin (Additive Combinatorics and Ramsey Theory)
Rui Hu (Graph-based Statistics)
Cory Johnson (Graph Theory)
Min-Lin Lo (Graph Theory)


Geometry / Topology

Corey Dunn (Differential Geometry, Geometric Analysis)
Rui Hu (Topological Data Analysis, Manifold Learning)
Jeffrey S. Meyer (Hyperbolic Geometry, Lattices in Lie Groups)
Rolland Trapp (Link Complements)
Wenxiang Wang

History of Mathematics

Shawn McMurran


Lynn Scow (Model Theory, Generalized Ramsey Theory)

Math Education

Jeremy Aikin
Steve Balady
Madeleine Jetter
Dalton Marsh
Shawn McMurran
Jeffrey S. Meyer
Laura Wallace


Hani Aldirawi
Rui Hu (Applied Statistics, Machine Learning)
Suthakaran Ratnasingam