Sastry Pantula, dean of Cal State San Bernardino's College of Natural Sciences, is the 2023 Learning Champion. The award was announced at this year’s LEARN Conference.

The Learning Champion is an MPP or administrator who promotes, enhances and sustains a positive learning environment. They exemplify CSUSB core values and support the success of employees.

Pantula was nominated for demonstrating inclusivity, integrity, respect, social justice and equity. He invites speakers to talk about inclusivity, diversity and equity, and emphasizes these values with search committee members in regard to hiring staff and faculty. He also supports staff in attending conferences and professional growth opportunities.

The winner of this year’s Learning Champion award received a legacy trophy to keep until the next LEARN Conference and their name will be added to a perpetual plaque to be hung in the Staff Development Center.

The Learning Champion Award was first introduced last year, with the first winners being Bradford Owen, interim associate vice president of faculty development and chief academic technologies officer, and Michael Casadonte, director of digital transformation.