Cal State San Bernardino’s Palm Desert Campus has announced the 15 recipients of the prestigious Rogers Scholars awards for the 2019-20 academic year.

They are:

  • Brian Agbayani – Nursing
  • Vivian Arriaga – Nursing
  • Tamara Eses - Nursing
  • Tyler Dyck – Administration, accounting concentration
  • Crystal Lopez – Nursing
  • Miranda Luna-Olmos – Nursing
  • Paola Martin – Psychology
  • Ailed Mendes Gonzalez – Nursing
  • Michelle Pimentel-Ramos – Liberal Studies
  • Jasmine Rangel – Liberal Studies
  • Diana Rivera – Liberal Studies
  • Sheila Schmid – Psychology
  • Savannah Sharp – Nursing
  • Sofia Torres-Crespo – Psychology
  • Veronica Velez - Nursing

The Mary Stuart Rogers Scholarship fund was established in 1994 to provide monetary awards for deserving students. Recipients, called Rogers Scholars, must demonstrate a sincere commitment to their own personal growth, compile outstanding academic records, demonstrate leadership qualities, and show a desire to serve their fellow students and communities. The award is a merit-based scholarship and only awarded to the top students at the campus.

Each year, the recipients of the scholarship are honored at a banquet where they meet John Rogers, the son of Mary Stuart Rogers, and his family. Since its establishment, the Rogers Scholarship has awarded more than $1 million to students at the CSUSB Palm Desert Campus.
The CSUSB Palm Desert Campus offers bachelor’s and master’s degrees, a doctorate in educational leadership, and teaching credentials and certificates. With more than 1,400 students, it is the Coachella Valley’s four-year public university and plays a vital role in educating and training the region’s growing population.

For more information about the CSUSB Palm Desert Campus, contact Mike Singer in the Office of Strategic Communication at or (760) 341-2883, ext. 78107, or visit the campus website at