Twenty-six Cal State San Bernardino faculty members have been awarded promotions and/or tenure for the 2017-18 school year.

Effective this September, the faculty members were promoted to either full professor or associate professor, and nearly half of them received tenure. 

The faculty members who have been promoted and/or received tenure are listed by their academic college below.

College of Arts and Letters

Promoted to associate professor and received tenure

  • Thomas Corrigan, communication studies
  • J. Chad Sweeney, English

Promoted to associate professor

  • Beth Steffel, art

Promoted to professor

  • Alison Petty, art
  • Andre Harrington, theatre arts
  • David Jerez-Gomez, world languages and literatures

Jack H. Brown College of Business and Public Administration

Promoted to associate professor and received tenure

  • Liang (Kevin) Guo, accounting and finance

Promoted to professor

  • Xiang (Samantha) Liu, accounting and finance
  • David Senteney, accounting and finance

College of Education

Promoted to professor with tenure

  • Lasisi Ajayi, teacher education and foundations

Promoted to professor

  • Sherri Franklin-Guy, special education, rehabilitation and counseling

College of Natural Sciences

Promoted to associate professor with tenure

  • Tomasz Owerkowicz, biology
  • Monideepa Becerra, health sciences
  • Nicole Dabbs, kinesiology

Promoted to professor

  • Haiyan Qiao, computer sciences
  • Madeline Jetter, mathematics

Received tenure

  • Claudia Davis, nursing

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Promoted to associate professor with tenure

  • Nerea Marteache, criminal justice
  • Ryan Keating, history
  • Jeremy Murray, history
  • Antony Field, political science

Promoted to professor

  • Christina Famega, criminal justice
  • Andrea Schoepfer, criminal justice
  • Thomas Long, history
  • Cherstin Lyon, history

John M. Pfau Library

Promoted to librarian

  • Eva Sorrell

For more information on Cal State San Bernardino, contact the university’s Office of Strategic Communication at (909) 537-5007 and visit