Main Content Region

Teaching Academy


In collaboration with the Teaching Resource Center, the CSUSB Teaching Academy supports teaching and learning at all levels and in all contexts of university activity, and will serve as a focal point for the university’s commitment to this end. In pursuing this goal, the Academy will enhance the intellectual climate, promote discourse among all members of the University community, and serve as an advocate for learning and teaching initiatives and innovations.


The Teaching Academy (TA) will include all faculty who actively participate in TA Events.  Notification will be sent to TA members. The TA Cabinet will organize the events and activities, serving as liaisons to the Teaching Resource Center, Faculty Senate and campus administration on matters relating to teaching.  The TA Cabinet will be comprised of 11 members: 1 elected from each College and the Library and 5 at-large members (to be appointed by the Faculty Senate).  The new Cabinet structure will be phased in over the next three years to allow current TA Cabinet members to complete their current terms.

Cabinet Members 2020-2021

Mihaela Popescu, Arts & Letters, 2018-2021

Matthew Logan, Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2018-2021

Jing Zhang, Business & Public Administration, 2018-2021

Nicole Klimow, Education, 2020-2023

Dorothy Chen-Maynard, Natural Sciences, 2020-2023

Gina Schlesselman-Tarango, Library, 2020-2023

Andrew Hughes, At Large, 2019-2022

David Rhoads, At-large, Chair, 2019-2022

Dan Nickerson, At Large 2019-2022

Lucy Lewis, At Large, 2020-2023

Paulchris Okpala, Interim TRC Director Ex-Officio


If you are interested in serving on the Teaching Academy cabinet, please contact Phyllis Meadows by email or visit the Faculty Senate Office website

Last updated October 2020