CSUSB celebrates Black History Month

The Black Faculty, Staff and Student Association (BFSSA) at Cal State San Bernardino will host the 8th Annual Pioneer Breakfast on Friday, Feb. 28, from 9-11 a.m. in the Santos Manuel Student Union Events Center, with the theme “Leading a Legacy to Black Excellence.”
The Pioneer Breakfast, which coincides with the celebration of Black History Month, serves as a fundraiser for six scholarships benefitting current CSUSB students: J. Milton Clark, Mildred Henry, Terrylin Monette, John Overton, Jean Peacock & Walter Hawkins and the Belva Holder scholarships. Proceeds also support the annual Black Graduation recognition ceremony.
The event will also honor six community members. This year’s honorees are:

  • Monica Stockhausen, Emerging Leader Award;
  • Mayor Deborah Robertson, Community Icon Award;  
  • Herbert English Jr., Staff Award; 
  • Dr. Elise Traynum, Alumni Award;  
  • Cynthia Linton, Administration Award;
  • Althea Waites, Faculty Award; and
  • Jesse Felix, Lorraine Frost Ally Award.

Tickets for the Pioneer Breakfast are $25 for faculty, staff and community members. Doors open at 8:30 a.m.
To reserve a table, purchase tickets or to sponsor a student attendee, please contact Anthony Roberson, associate director of operations in the Santos Manuel Student Union, at aroberso@csusb.edu or (909) 537-7198.
For more information about the Black Faculty, Staff and Student Association, visit the BFSSA website.