Main Content Region

Award Recipients

Service Learning Fellowship Award

Congratulations to the following faculty who received a Service Learning Fellowship to support the integration of service learning into a course:

Service Learning Fellowship Awards 2018-19

  • Michelle Lorimer, History
  • Taewoo Kim, Accounting
  • Anthony Silard, Public Administration
  • Jose Munoz, Sociology
  • Johanna Smith, Theatre

Community-Based Participatory Research Mini-Grant Award

Congratulations to the following faculty who received a CBPR Mini-Grant to support research with community partners:

Community-Based Participatory Research Awards 2018-2019

  • Arianna Huhn, Anthropology
  • Jennifer Alford, Geography
  • Becky Sumbera, Ed Leadership and Tech
  • Alex Avila, Liberal Studies
  • Paulchris Okpala, Health Science
  • Connie McReynolds, Special Education & Rehab Counseling
  • Tom Long, History
  • Laura Kamptner, Psychology

Community-Based Participatory Research Awards 2019-2020

  • Tom Long, History

Outstanding Community Engagement Faculty Award

Dr. Enrique Murillo, Jr. receiving his award for the 2019 Outstanding Community Engagement Award.
From left: Dr. Diane Podolske, Director of Community Engagement, Dr. Tomas D. Morales, President, CSUSB, Dr. Enrique Murillo, and Robert Nava, Vice President & Executive Director for CSUSB Philanthropic Foundation. Photo by Rodrigo Pena/CSUSB.

Dr. Enrique Murillo, Jr. is the recipient of the 2019 Outstanding Community Engagement Award for his deeply engaged academic work; history of community collaboration and change, especially in addressing educational equity and the specific needs of Latino education; and his leadership in raising the profile of CSUSB as an institution committed to diversity, inclusion and student success. He has collaborated with over 200 regional, state and national partners in the development of the annual LEAD Conference, college and career fairs, voter registration drives, legislative advocacy efforts, parent leadership institutes, and regional consortia to increase the access, retention, and success of Latino students in higher education. Congratulations Enrique!