Main Content Region

Department of Political Science

Covid-19 Message

We are open and ready to support you! As we continue to monitor and meet established safety guidelines in response to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak, our offices are still open and operating in a virtual format. You can reach us by phone at (909) 537-5535 for the Political Science Department or (909) 537-5534 for the National Security Studies M.A. and M.S. programs.

 

You can also reach us via email at:

Marilyn Gareis, Administrative Support Coordinator: ggareis@csusb.edu

Brian Janiskee, Department Chair: janiskee@csusb.edu

Mark T. Clark, Graduate Coordinator: mtclark@csusb.edu

 

We will respond as quickly as possible. Several resources can be found on CSUSB’s dedicated COVID-19/Coronavirus Information web page.

 

Thank you and stay safe.

The Political Science program at CSUSB offers a liberal arts background with an emphasis on politics, government, international relations, and law. It is designed for students who intend to pursue law school, advanced degrees, teaching, government service, community-service, and journalism.

Special Features

The department features personalized instruction by an outstanding faculty of recognized academicians who are experienced, practicing professionals. It offers a well-balanced program that stresses theory and practice. It regularly offers independent study options, an internship program, a pre-law minor, and a certificate program in International Relations. It also hosts an award-winning chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the national honor society of Political Science. Other student clubs organized out of the department include the Law Society.

Political Science Advising

The following information applies to the following students:

  • Political Science Majors
  • Political Science Minors

Advising Holds & Advice on PAWS Report

Visit the Mentor Advising Center

Questions About Your Current Political Science Course(s)

 Go to office hours of faculty.

Administrative Questions

Go to Department Chair, Brian Janiskee

Students with Particular Interests

For students with particular interests or who already receive regular advice from a particular faculty member, continue to visit those office hours of particular faculty.

Career, Graduate School, or Other General Questions

Go to one of the professors below. The first two letters of your last name will let you know which faculty member has been assigned to you for this purpose. Please know that you can still seek advice from other faculty, according to your particular questions.

*If your assigned advisor below is on sabbatical or on leave, please contact the Department Chair, Dr. Brian Janiskee, at janiskee@csusb.edu

Aa to Ba: Fabián Borges
fabian.borges@csusb.edu
SB 117

Bb to Co: Steven Childs
schilds@csusb.edu
SB 109

Cp to Gr: Meredith Conroy
mconroy@csusb.edu
SB 111

Gs to Li: Antony Field
afield@csusb.edu
SB 123

Lj to Nu: Brian Janiskee
janiskee@csusb.edu
SB 112

Nv to Re: Luba Levin-Banchik
Luba.Levin-Banchik@csusb.edu
SB 113

Rf to So: Christina Villegas
cvillega@csusb.edu
SB 121

Sp to Z: Scot Zentner
zentner@csusb.edu
SB 115