Main Content Region

Teaching Performance Assessment

CalTPA Overview

Beginning fall 2022 underneath the new credential structure the Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) adopted the CalTPA. The CalTPA for Special Education consists of two instructional cycles for Mild to Moderate Support Needs (MMSN) and Extensive Support Needs (ESN). Credential candidates who are accepted into the Special Education Program in fall 2022 will begin to prepare for the CalTPAs. CalTPAs will be covered throughout the candidates’ coursework and Instructional Cycles and 1 and 2 will take place during their student teaching fieldwork or internship hours.

Instructional Cycle 1 focuses on getting to know your students. This consists of: knowing the population of students you are working with, being able to demonstrate what strategies (i.e., UDL, wait time, visuals, etc.) would work best, and providing your students with various accommodations and modifications to meet their diverse needs.

Instructional Cycle 2 focuses on assessment. In this cycle, students will utilize the California Preliminary Education State Standards utilizing the Teaching Performance Expectations and standards specific to their credential area (MMSN, ESN), develop a lesson plan, and execute and deliver a lesson to student(s). An assessment will need to be developed or utilized to check for understanding, monitoring of student performance, and be able to analyze if it needs to be modified or adapted.

Education Specialist TPA

CTC TPA Registration and Study Resources

Support Links

<a href=";showinfo=0">Watch Education Specialist Teaching Performance Assessments YouTube Video</a>