Faculty Senate

Message from the Faculty Senate Chair

Senate Chair Karen Kolehmainen
The Faculty Senate of California State University, San Bernardino is responsible for representing the faculty of the University through the shared governance process.  As a Faculty Senate we have elected faculty representation from all five Colleges, as well as counselor, librarian, lecturer, and student representatives.  Both the President and Provost are active ex-officio members of the Senate. 

The Senate will continue to address polices on retention, promotion, and tenure, curriculum, budgeting, graduate education, and hiring of academic personnel. This year, we will also continue to monitor and report on the campus climate, consider issues related to semester conversion, and review our constitution and bylaws.

We have a long and proud tradition of both strong belief and solid practice of shared governance at CSUSB.  We have a history of highly collegial, productive relations with all the constituent units of the University.  We are committed to representing the interests and concerns of the faculty.  To that end, please feel free to contact me or any Faculty Senator with concerns, ideas, or suggestions.  

Karen Kolehmainen 
Faculty Senate Chair