CSUSB Alert: The San Bernardino campus remains closed today as regional power disruption continues.

The regional power disruption that began on Wednesday, July 24, at 1:50 pm continues to impact the San Bernardino campus.  

The San Bernardino campus will remain closed today, Thursday, July 25. 

Facilities Management is working to ensure that generators in critical areas are operating. 

Essential staff with questions on whether to report should contact their appropriate administrator.

The Palm Desert Campus remains open and operational.


Main Content Region

President's DEI Board

President's Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Board 

On the Creation of the President’s DEI Board

During the Spring 2020 term, CSUSB engaged Halualani & Associates to review the campus’ diversity, equity, and inclusion efforts, bring a strategic focus to our campus activities, and make suggestions for increasing effectiveness of DEI efforts. Dr. Rona Halualani met with several campus constituents including Faculty Senate, Staff Council, and Associated Students, Inc.

In the Diversity Mapping Report for California State University, San Bernardino, which was shared with the campus on August 20, 2020, Dr. Halualani applauded the efforts CSUSB had made to date, but also recommended better alignment and focus through (1) the development and implementation of a diversity strategic plan and (2) the creation of one centralized unit both to implement that plan and more effectively coordinate DEI activities to achieve maximum impact.

The newly created DEI Board consists of a memberships with representatives from the shared governance bodies including the Faculty Senate, Staff Council and ASI as well as representatives from the cultural centers, affinity groups, and experts across campus to increase inclusiveness in our planning and bring a wide variety of perspectives to our DEI activities.

DEI Board Subcommittee Structure

With oversight of an executive committee, the Board is structured with the following sub-committees focused on DEI in:

  • Student Recruitment, Retention and Graduation
  • Faculty Recruitment, Retention and Development
  • Staff Recruitment, Retention and Development
  • Alumni and Community Outreach
  • Curriculum and Student Learning
  • Programming

DEI Board Charges

The President’s DEI Board is charged to:

  • Identify and recommend priorities for diversity, equity, and inclusion work to the President
  • Contribute to the DEI Strategic Plan design process, its finalization and implementation
  • Evaluate and assess the efficacy of the University’s diversity strategy and the DEI Strategic Plan and identify metrics for progress
  • Assess and promote the principles and goals identified in the DEI Strategic Plan to cultivate and sustain synergy and collaboration in diversity, equity, and inclusion efforts
  • Identify and support the Council leaders responsible for the implementation of assigned DEI Strategic Plan goals
  • Lead and coordinate activities to develop and maintain the desired campus climate
  • Assist in the development of accountability structures to evaluate and assess the campus climate activities for efficacy
  • Focus on DEI Educational Function, and foster learning around diversity, equity, and inclusion through coordinated events, co-curricular programming, workshops, and training
  • Focus on DEI Community Function and build a more engaged and aware community around diversity, equity, and inclusion at the institution, including with alumni and Inland Empire community
  • Focus on the role of diversity, equity, and inclusion in terms of the academic aspects of the institution, including incorporating DEI in the curriculum, inclusive pedagogy, retention and graduation rates, and college-level engagement with diversity, equity and inclusion
  • Focus on the role of diversity, equity and inclusion in terms of faculty and staff recruitment, retention and development, diversification of faculty and staff, retention tenure-promotion, safe space training, inclusion workshops, and diversity champion programs

Steering Committee

Tomas Morales

Tomás D. Morales

Kelly Campbell Photo

Kelly Campbell

headshot of bryan haddock

Bryan Haddock

Katherine Hartley

Katherine Hartley

headshot of rafik mohamed

Rafik Mohamed

Mr. Robert Nava

Robert Nava

Paz Oliverez

Paz Olivérez 

robin phillips photo

Robin Phillips

Mr. Sam Sudhakar

Sam Sudhakar





Executive Committee

  • Kelly Campbell, Co-Chief Diversity Officer 
  • Robin Phillips, Co-Chief Diversity Officer 
  • Tomás D. Morales
  • Bryan Haddock
  • Katherine Hartley
  • Rafik Mohamed
  • Robert Nava
  • Paz Olivérez
  • Sam Sudhakar
  • Jesse Felix
  • Nicole Dabbs
  • Sastry Pantula
  • Crystal Wymer-Lucero
  • Michaela Watkins
  • Carson Fajardo (ASI President)
  • Assessment Consultant (invited as needed)


Student Recruitment, Retention and Graduation

  • Rachel Beech (Chair)
  • Molly Springer (Vice-Chair)
  • Paz Olivérez (Steering Committee Liaison)
  • Shareef Amer
  • Rueyling Chuang
  • Manpreet Dhillon Brar
  • Christina Hassija
  • Jennifer Mersman
  • Lyla Ochoa-Tarantino
  • HyunKyoung (HK) Oh
  • Mark Rogers
  • Lee Stovall
  • Beberly Yanes

Curriculum and Student Learning

  • Nicole Dabbs (Chair)
  • Claire Todd (Vice-Chair)
  • Rafik Mohamed (Steering Committe)
  • Carmen Beck
  • Brittany Bloodhart
  • Diana Camilo 
  • Carlos Gonzales
  • Alicia Hernandez
  • Dong Man Kim
  • Angie Otiniano Verissimo

Staff Recruitment, Retention and Development

  • Michaela Watkins (Chair)
  • Rowena Casis-Woidyla (Vice Chair)
  • Robin Phillips (Steering Committee Liaison)
  • Sam Sudhakar (Steering Committee Liaison)
  • Pamela Moses (ACC Member)
  • Tiffany Bookman
  • Michelle Bell
  • Kalie King 
  • LeSondra Jones 
  • David Hou
  • Cheryl Halk

Alumni and Community Outreach

  • Crystal Wymer-Lucero (Chair)
  • Dalia Hernandez (Vice-Chair)
  • Robert Nava (Steering Committee Liaison)
  • Thomas Long (ACC Member)
  • Bryan Haddock
  • Tamara Holder
  • Salome Kapella-Mshigeni
  • Pamela Medina Gutierrez
  • Primavera Reza-Nakonechny
  • Navneet Singh 

Faculty Recruitment, Retention and Development

  • Sastry Pantula (Chair) 
  • Taewon Yang (Vice Chair) 
  • Kelly Campbell (Steering Committee Liaison) 
  • Lori Caruthers Collins 
  • Jane Chin Davidson 
  • Kevin Grisham 
  • Angela Horner 
  • Robert Kryiakos Smith 
  • Conrad Shayo  
  • Barua Kabba 
  • Fadi Muheidat 
  • Brad Owen 


  • Jesse Felix (Chair) 
  • Lesley Davidson-Boyd (Vice-Chair) 
  • Paz Olivérez (Steering Committee Liaison) 
  • Jennifer Mersman (ACC Member) 
  • Jairo Leon 
  • Agustin Ramirez 
  • Anthony Roberson 
  • Bibiana Díaz 
  • Angelica Agudo 
  • Terri Anderson 
  • Roryana Bowman 
  • Debanhi Escobar  
  • Mike Rister 

President's DEI Board Staff


Ben Dijkstra Photo

Ben Dijkstra

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Administrative Analyst