Main Content Region

Certificate Program

Certificate in Cybersecurity

Requirements (32 units)

Certificates may be earned by regularly matriculated or extended learning students and denote successful completion of a prescribed program of study designed to:

  1. impart specified professional/vocational/career competencies; or
  2. produce mastery of the content of a sub-field of an academic major (discipline); or
  3. provide exposure to the range of materials in a traditional or emerging interdisciplinary field.

Certain certificate programs contain 600-level courses as requirements and/or electives. These 600-level courses may not be taken by undergraduate students. Candidates must receive two-thirds of their certificate-applicable credit from the university. The transferring of credit or the substitution of courses may occur only after application to the appropriate campus authority.

Students completing the Cybersecurity Certificate meet the Committee on National Security Systems (CNSS) standards for Information Systems Security Professionals (CNSS 4011) and Senior System Managers (CNSS 4012).

Certificate Requirements:

  1. IST 101 Introduction to Information Technology (4 Units)
  2. IST 215 Cybersecurity (4 Units)
  3. IST 275 Information Networking and Security (4 Units)
  4. IST 309 Information Systems and Technology (4 Units)
  5. IST 372 Information Technology (4 Units)
  6. IST 475 Advanced Information Networking and Security (4 Units)

A minimum of eight units chosen from:

  1. IST 415 - Security Systems Management
  2. IST 490 - Information Systems Planning and Policy
  3. IST 511 - Cyber Defense
  4. IST 525 - Computer Forensics

Total Units: 32 Units