Dear Colleagues:

As we end the two and a half year journey to create a "<u>Statement on Shared Governance at</u> <u>CSUSB</u>", I am proud of the tremendous work our campus community has achieved. This was an extensive process that was developed and led by multiple representatives from each of our governance bodies.

After a national search and with unanimous approval of the Shared Governance Consultant Task Force, Dr. Jim Lyons from the Association of Governing Boards was selected to guide the campus in the process. This task force, renamed to the Shared Governance Steering Committee, engaged in open and collaborative dialogue with each other for over 30 hours. In addition, members of the campus community participated in separate stakeholder meetings and open forums. Thank you to those who actively engaged in this process.

I would also like to specifically thank the following individuals who have served on the Shared Governance Steering Committee:

2019/20:

- Alfredo Barcenas (ASI)
- Dayna Brown (committee support)
- Doug Freer (Administration/convener)
- Adonis Galarza-Toledo (ASI)
- Rob Garcia (Staff Council)
- Karen Kolehmainen (Faculty Senate)
- Shari McMahan (Administration/convener)
- Kristy Robles (ASI)
- Beth Steffel (Faculty Senate)

2018/19:

- Patricia Aguilera (Staff Council)
- Dayna Brown (committee support)
- Rong Cheng (Faculty Senate)
- Doug Freer (Administration/convener)
- Rob Garcia (Staff Council)
- Karen Kolehmainen (Faculty Senate)
- Shari McMahan (Administration/convener)
- Prince Ogidikpe (ASI)
- Kristy Robles (ASI)
- Beth Steffel (Faculty Senate)

2017/18:

- Alisha Carnahan (committee support)
- Andrea Davalos (ASI)
- Theodore Fiawoo (ASI)
- Doug Freer (Administration/convener)
- Megan Huston (Staff Council)
- Karen Kolehmainen (Faculty Senate)
- Shari McMahan (Administration/convener)
- Christopher Naticchia (Faculty Senate)
- Jennifer Stevenson (Staff Council)

This statement documents our continuing commitment to shared governance. I look forward to this Statement serving as a guide as we move forward as an institution. Thank you to ASI and Staff Council for already signing the statement with me and I look forward to receiving the final signature from the Faculty Senate.

Sincerely, Tomás D. Morales

President