

Academic Affairs Office of the Provost and Vice President

May 4, 2020

Dear Colleagues,

Following a national search and the careful consideration of input from the campus community, I am delighted to share that **Rueyling Chuang** has been named **dean of the College of Arts and Letters**, effective June 1, 2020. She will continue to hold an academic appointment as a tenured full professor in the Department of Communication Studies.

Dr. Chuang has been a valued educator and leader at Cal State San Bernardino for 20 years. During the past two years, she has served as interim dean of the College of Arts and Letters; prior to that, she was associate dean of the college for nearly three years. She has significant experience solving a variety of complex curricular, budgetary and personnel challenges, and is dedicated to creating cutting-edge academic programs that enhance both faculty and student excellence.

Among her other leadership roles at our campus, Dr. Chuang served as the faculty director of the Center for International Studies and Programs, the executive director and CEO of the Phi Beta Delta Honor Society for International Scholars and coordinator of the Asian Studies Program. A first-generation student and the only person in her immediate family to immigrate to the U.S., she received her Ph.D. in interpersonal communication from Ohio University. She also earned a master's degree in speech communication from CSU Hayward, now known as Cal State East Bay.

She will continue to advance academic excellence in her new role. Among her responsibilities, she will provide strategic academic and administrative leadership to the seven departments and one interdisciplinary program in the college. She will also oversee operations of the Robert and Frances Fullerton Museum of Art, which is accredited by the American Museum Association, and serve on the Museum Advisory Board.

Thank you to the campus community for your engagement in this search; and to the search committee chair, Associate Vice Provost and Dean Tatiana Karmanova, and committee members – Bibiana Diaz, Suany Echevarria, Michelle Fuller, Liliana Gallegos, Janette Garcia, Dorota Huizinga, Todd Johnson, Oraib Mango, Diana Minor, Matthew Poole, Tom Provenzano and Sam Sudhakar – for your hard work throughout this process.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Chuang on her appointment.

Best, Shari

we define the *Huture* 

Shari McMahan, Ph.D. Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs