2017-2018 RISK & SAFETY COMMITTEE

The CSUSB Risk & Safety Committee will seek to create and sustain a high level of awareness about 1) risk management, 2) public safety, 3) environmental health and safety, and 4) disaster/emergency preparedness. The Committee will help assure a safe environment for faculty, staff, students and visitors by serving as a forum in which risk and safety issues may be discussed and recommendations for improvement submitted.

Charge

The Risk & Safety Committee's charge includes:

- Identify and analyze risk, public safety, health and environmental, and emergency issues that affect the campus
- Recommend prevention approaches, training and education strategies, and provide guidance on implementation of such methods
- Assess and review current response protocols
- Study, review, advise and recommend policies and procedures relating to the safety and security of persons and CSUSB facilities
- Provide information and advocacy for members of the campus community who have safety concerns

Sub-committees will be created as needed to address particular issues or functional areas. Committee members, key campus personnel and volunteers will be invited to serve according to expertise and interest.

The Executive Director of Risk Management will be responsible for bringing the concerns of the Risk & Safety Committee to the VP Administration & Finance who will apprise the university President, as appropriate.

Meetings

The Risk & Safety Committee will meet as necessary to conduct its business, but no less than once during each of the fall, winter and spring quarters.

A meeting agenda will be sent at least one week in advance of a scheduled committee meeting. Minutes will be taken at each meeting and kept on file in the Risk Management office.

Membership

The diverse membership includes CSUSB faculty, staff, students and administrators.

2017-2018 RISK & SAFETY COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Chair

Executive Director, Risk Management – Jody Van Leuven

Members

Associate Director, Housing/Residential Life – Randy Hanlin SETC Unit 6 Skilled Trades Rep – James Boothe Assoc. Provost, Academic Personnel – J. Paul Vicknair Chief of Police – Nina Jamsen Information Security Officer – Javier Torner ASI President – Andrea Davalos CSUEU Chair - Rich McGee Director, EHS – Teresa Fricke Faculty, CSBS, Criminal Justice – Deborah Parsons Chair/Professor, Biology - Mike Chao Director, Parking Services – Thomas Gaffery Assistant Director Strategic Communications – Joe Gutierrez APC Unit 4 Rep – Mario Baeza Faculty Senate Rep – Alexandru Roman AVP, Facilities Planning & Mgmt – Michael Sylvester Director, Student Health Center – Grace Castillo Johnson Emergency Manager/Business Continuity - April Wing Director, Human Resources – Stacey Barnier IRB AAS – Michael Gillespie Water Resource Institute – Boykin Witherspoon Associate Director, Center for Int'l Studies & Programs – Elva Salgado TNS Operation Specialist– Lonelle Minesinger Interim Executive Director, Associated Students, Inc. – Jesse Felix

Assistant Vice President for Student Services – Beth Jaworski