IT Governance Subcommittees

Academic Technologies & Distributed Learning Committee


Dr. Janine Kremling, Chair, Professor, College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Dr. Tatiana Karmanova, Dean, College of Extended Learning

Dr. Amy Leh, Professor, College of Education

Dr. Yonseok Jang, Professor, Jack H. Brown College of Business and Public Administration

Kurt Collins, Professor, College of Arts and Letters

Vacant, College of Natural Sciences


James Trotter, Assistant Director of Academic Technologies and Innovation

Dr. Mihaela Popescu, Academic Technologies and Innovation

Dr. Jo Anna Grant, Director, Teaching Resource Center

Takiya Moore, Academic Technologies and Innovation

Micah Schiessel, Academic Technologies and Innovation


  • The Academic and Distributed Technologies Committee will monitor policy issues that arise with regard to the University Policy on Distributed Learning and shall, as it considers appropriate, (a) refer a particular issue to one of the standing committees of the Faculty Senate for the development of a policy or (b) develop a policy on a particular issue itself and then refer the proposed policy to the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate.
  • The Committee will monitor and report on instructional technology and distributed learning trends and issues on campus.
  • The Committee shall seek to gather and represent faculty perspectives on questions relating to teaching, learning, or researching with instructional technologies, including distributed learning and other learning technologies, and it will work with ATI to provide services and support to the faculty. Faculty are free to bring questions and requests for support to either the Committee or ATI as they choose.
  • The Committee will recommend to ATI mechanisms that will support faculty in staying current on instructional technologies and distributed learning, such as opportunities for training, experimenting with emerging technologies, and support from instructional designer.

CMS Executive Council


Dr. Frank Lin, Co-Chair

Lenora Rodgers, Co-Chair

Monir Ahmed, AVP of Finance

Tanner Carollo, Assistant Director, Institutional Research

Dr. Seval Yildirim, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs and Development

Grace King, Project Manager, Q2S

Rosalinda Velasco, Interim AVP, Human Resources

Olivia Rosas, AVP, Enrollment Services

Dr. Javier Torner, Information Security Officer

Dr. Clare Weber, Deputy Provost, Academic Programs

Michael Casadonte, Web & Mobile Services, Information Technology Services


  • Business Intelligence Driven Decision Making
  • Predictive Analytics
  • Enterprise Data Warehouse
  • Institutional Data Management
  • Data Ownership and Access
  • Common Management Systems Projects

Institutional Data Team


Dr. Muriel Lopez Wagner, Co-Chair

Dr. Samuel Sudhakar, Co-Chair

Monir Ahmed, AVP of Finance

Gerard Au, AVP Technology Operations and Customer Support

Jenny Casillas, Administrative Computing and Business Intelligence

Tanner Carollo, Assistant Director, Institutional Research

Anthony De La Loza, Administrative Computing and Business Intelligence

Monica Alejandre, University Advancement

Dr. Vipin Gupta, College of Business and Public Administration

Grace King, Project Manager, Q2S

Dr. Craig Seal, Dean, Undergraduate Studies

Lenora Rodgers, Director, Administrative Computing and Business Intelligence

Dr. Dorota Huizinga, Graduate Studies and Academic Research

Dr. Javier Torner, Information Security Officer


  • Perform an Inventory of current data
  • Determine current sources of data – Primary, Secondary, Tertiary
  • Location of the data – Internal or External
  • Ownership of Data
  • How is the data currently accessed by those who need the data?
  • What data mining tools are currently used?
  • What data warehouses does the institution own/maintain?
  • How and in what frequency is the data dispersed? Ex. Dashboards, reports
  • Formulate recommendations for the IT Governance Executive Committee

Information Security, Compliance & Emerging Technologies


Dr. Joon Son, Co-Chair

Dr. Javier Torner, Co-Chair

Amy Braceros, Interim Director, Office of the Registrar

Beth Jaworski, Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs

Carolyn O'Keefe,  Director, Counseling and Psychological Services

Laura Carrizales, Administrative Analyst Specialist

Grace Castillo Johnson, Student Health Center

Michael Zachary, Campus Auditor

Human Resources

Risk Management

ASI Student Representative


  • Information Security and Privacy
  • Identity Management Systems
  • Emerging Technologies Research & Development
  • Single Sign On and Portal Development and Enhancements
  • Security and Compliance Audits
  • Disaster Recovery & Business Continuity
  • Information Technology Policies and Procedures

Technology Operations & Customer Support


Dr. Mike Chao, Department of Biology (Co-Chair)

Gerard Au, Information Technology Services (Co-Chair)

Dayna Brown, Division of Administration and Finance

Elena Carollo, ASI (Student Representative)

Bill Herbert, Jack H. Brown College of Business and Public Administration

Rose Wilson, College of Extended Learning

Ching-Yi Wang, College of Natural Sciences

ITS Support Staff (Ex-officio):

Ben Derry, ITS-Enterprise and Cloud Services

Gerardo Garcia-Sotelo, ITS-Enterprise and Cloud Services

David Hatch, ITS-Telecommunication and Network Services

Jim O’Linger, ITS-Technology Support Center

Patricia Weyand, Director Information Technology (PDC)


  • Best of Class Customer Support
  • Infrastructure
  • Centralization and Standardization
  • End User Empowerment
  • Operational Sustainability and Excellence
  • PDC Technology Enhancements and Support
  • High Performance Computing
  • Research Networks
  • Enterprise Applications Development