Main Content Region

New Faculty Orientation


August 17 (TUESDAY)           8:30 AM - 2:40 PM      DAY 1: VIRTUAL

Day 1 Video Recording

                                                     DAY 1: August 17, 2021  AGENDA

8:30 am - 8:45 am            Opening Remarks
                                           President Tomás Morales Provost Shari McMahan
                                           Seval Yildirim, Associate Provost, Faculty Affairs & Develop and Co-Chief                                                                                Diversity Officer

8:45 am – 9:15 am           Introduction of New Faculty
9:15 am - 9:30 am            Introduction of Faculty Development Resources Team:

                                            Paulchris Okpala, Interim Executive Director, Faculty Developm Program
                                           Josephine Mendoza, Director, University Faculty Mentoring Network (UFMN)
                                            Montgomery Van Wart, Faculty Research Fellow
                                            Dorota Huizinga, Associate Provost, Academic Research & Dean of Graduate                                                                                  Studies
                                            Cynthia Crawford, Director, Research Development
                                            Paulina Tagle, Sr. Director,Research & Sponsored Programs

                                            Diane Podolske, Director of Community Engagement
                                            Samuel Sudhakar, Chief Information Officer & Vice President, Information                                                                                          Technology Services (ITS)
                                             Bradford Owen, Director, Academic Technologies & Innovatio (ATI)  Chief                                                                                           Academic Technology Officer
                                             Rosalinda (Rosie) Torres, Lead Analyst, Office of Faculty Affair and Development
                                             Twillea Evans-Carthen, University Ombuds Officer

                                             Chief Nina Jamsen and April Wing, University Police

9:30 am – 10:00am            Break

10:00 am - 11: 00 am           Panel: CSUSB Students
                                             Introduction by Dr. Paz Olivérez, Vice President for Student Aff
11: 00 am - 12:00 pm           Panel: Research at CSUSB
                                              Montgomery Van Wart, Faculty Development Program-Research Fellow
                                             Cynthia Crawford, Director of Research Development
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm             Lunch Break
1:00 pm - 1:30 pm                Round Table: Deans and Department Chairs

1:30 pm - 2:40 pm               Presentation: Introduction to Employee Benefits
                                             Lisa White, Manager, Human Resources Employee Benefits

August 18 (WEDNESDAY)       8:30 AM -  2:40 PM      DAY 2: VIRTUAL

Day 2 Video Recording

                                                     DAY 2: August 18, 2021 AGENDA

8:30 am - 9:00 am       Introduction to Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Initiatives at CSUSB and Campus                                                          Affinity Groups
                                             Seval Yildirim, Associate Provost, Faculty Affairs & Development and Co-                                                                                     Chief Diversity Officer
                                             Lori Caruthers Collins, Assistant Director of Diversity Initiatives
9:00 am - 9:50 am        Presentation: Resources for your First Semester
                                             Bradford Owen, Director, Academic Technologies & Innovation (ATI)
                                             Christine Fundell, Coordinator, Accessible Technology Services
                                             Cary Barber, Coordinator, Affordable Learning Solutions
9:50 am - 10:00 am       Break
10:00 am - 11:00 am       Panel: Being a Faculty at CSUSB
                                             Hareem Khan, Anthropology/SBS
                                             Salome Mshigeni, HSCI/CNS
                                             Kate Simonian, English/CAL
                                             Karen Escalante, TEF/COE
                                             Michael Karp, History/SBS/PDC
11:00 am - 12:00 pm       Canvas Breakout Sessions
                                              Canvas Beginners
                                              Canvas Intermediate
12:00 pm - 12:40 pm        Lunch Break
12:40 pm – 1:10 pm          Roundtable: UFMN Mentors and Opportunity Drawing
1:10 pm - 2:10 pm             Presentation: RPT Process
                                                Josephine Mendoza, Director, University Faculty Mentoring Network (UFMN)
                                                Rosalinda Torres, Lead Analyst, Office of Faculty Affairs and Development
2:10 pm – 2:40 pm          Presentation: California Faculty Association