

Academic Affairs Office of the Provost and Vice President

July 9, 2018

Dear Colleagues,

Following a national search and the careful consideration of input from the campus community, I am pleased to announce that **Dr. Sastry G. Pantula** has been named **Dean of the College of Natural Sciences**. He will begin his new position on July 25, 2018. He will have an academic appointment as a tenured full professor in the Department of Mathematics in the College of Natural Sciences at CSUSB.

Dr. Pantula brings nearly 25 years of leadership experience in higher education. He comes to us from Oregon State University where he served four years as Dean of the College of Science. Prior to that, he served three years as Director of the Division of Mathematical Sciences at the National Science Foundation. During three decades of his time as a faculty member at North Carolina State University, he also served as the Director of Graduate Programs, Head of the Department of Statistics and the Director of the Institute of Statistics.

Among his accomplishments, Dr. Pantula has been awarded more than \$10 million in grants (\$7 million alone in graduate training awards) and also has a strong record of publications and supervising doctoral dissertations. He has an outstanding record of service to the profession. In 2010, he was elected as the President of the American Statistical Association (ASA). He served six years as treasurer for the National Institute of Statistical Sciences and three years as treasurer for ASA. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and ASA, and a member of the Honor Societies, Phi Kappa Phi, Mu Sigma Rho and Sigma Xi. He was inducted into the NCSU Academy of Outstanding Teachers.

Dr. Pantula earned a Ph.D. in statistics from Iowa State University and his master's and bachelor's degrees in statistics from the Indian Statistical Institute in Calcutta, India.

Thank you to the campus community for your engagement in this search; and to the search committee chair, Dean Rafik Mohamed, and committee members – Michael Chao, Kimberley Cousins, Geraldine Fike, Ron Fremont, Carol Hood, Dorota Huizinga, Alice Martinez, Angie Otiniano-Verissimo, Haiyan Qiao, Hosung So, Sam Sudhakar, Saxxie Tran, Belesario Ventura and Janette Garcia – for your hard work throughout this process. I would also like to extend my personal appreciation to **Peter Williams**, who has done an outstanding job as **interim dean of CNS**.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Pantula. I'm confident he will be an asset to our outstanding team.

Shari McMahan, Ph.D.

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

909.537.5024 • fax: 909.537.7015

5500 UNIVERSITY PARKWAY, SAN BERNARDINO, CA 92407-2393